5 comments on “Prog 2015 review

  1. Phew, nice review Eamonn, especially as I’m not allowed mine until Xmas day! As an aside, I notice you have been putting up all the material lately and I wondered if you knew what was happening to the other stuff as I sent my prog 1909 in 10 days ago… Cheers, Jacqusie.

  2. An impressive end of year prog. Cool line-up. The quiz section reminds me of 1980s 2000AD annuals.🙂

    Dark Justice – it’s finally here! Looks zarjaz! Prepare to be judged…!

  3. I could quite easily have had Dark Justice as a 2-parter, topping and tailing the prog.

    When a lot of the other stories were 9-10 pages and a good chunk of the art in the first episode had been teased, it did feel like it needed more for the Christmas issue.

    Subscribers got 1912 last week, so it’s not been too much of a wait for some, anyway.

  4. I’m not sure any of *Dark Justice* is going to read much more satisfyingly in weekly installments; for all the talk of reinstating the Dark Judges as a credible threat, it’s essentially a beautiful showcase for the art of Greg Staples.

    After the text-heavy *Block Judge*, Wagner’s in full *Mechanismo* decompressed storytelling mode, and I expect Dark Justice will leave readers as simultaneously delighted/frustrated as Colin MacNeil’s lovely looking tale of a couple of robots getting shot.

    I’m fine with all that, but – given the space the art’s eating up – I could have done without an entire page dedicated to explaining why the lawgiver looks imperceptibly different, but still works exactly the same as before.

  5. “I could have done without an entire page dedicated to explaining why the lawgiver looks imperceptibly different, but still works exactly the same as before.”

    It’s possible the new lawgiver will be used in the story. Perhaps Dredd will stun the Dark Judges into submission. LOL

    Must admit, the first part of Dark Justice ranks as my favourite ‘first part’ Judge Dredd story since Day of Chaos. Absolutely loved it.

Leave a Reply

